The Definitive Ranking Of All Roald Dahl’s Books | Buzzfeed

Cover of "MATILDA"

Cover of MATILDA

I love Roald Dahl. He’s one of my favorite authors, he’s got some really great quotes that I love. I read his autobiography (Boy, I didn’t finish Going Solo), which is written and illustrated in the same style as his other books, which I thought was cool.

Here are some Dahl quotes to brighten your day.

“Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” 

“If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.” 

“I have a passion for teaching kids to become readers, to become comfortable with a book, not daunted. Books shouldn’t be daunting, they should be funny, exciting and wonderful; and learning to be a reader gives a terrific advantage.” 

“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.” 

“I began to realize how important it was to be an enthusiast in life. He taught me that if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it at full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.” 

“A little magic can take you a long way.” 

And here’s Buzzfeed’s ranking of the top 15 Dahl stories. (Though I’m not sure why “believability” is a factor in a children’s fantasy novelist’s work…)

The Definitive Ranking Of All Roald Dahl’s Books.

My favorites are: Matilda and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I remembered reading Danny Champion of the World, without having read the BFG, and I was confused? Because it’s sort of a companion/sequel?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

